Archive for June 18th, 2009

18
Jun
09

Live Long and Prosper, Indeed.

I’m at work, saw this, and really enjoyed it. The last two and a half minutes are the best. Conan=perfect. Shatner=drunk. Jim=pleased.

18
Jun
09

Yawning Zeitgeist Intro

Hey, everybody. Welcome to yet another blog that I’m probably gonna ask you to read from time to time.

I know that I flood you guys with status updates, Tweets, smoke signals, etc. about TDoFS, and I’m probably gonna keep doing that. But as I’m realizing, not all of you guys are as into music as I am, so this one will be more about me. Stuff I’m doing, stuff I like, etc. Is there gonna be some overlap between the two? I’m sure of it, but I’ll try and keep my inner Pitchfork to myself this time around.

First, the name of the blog. A couple reasons for it:

1) Radiohead. Apparently, therethere.wordpress.com was taken, so therex2.wordpress.com wins, leading to…

2) I’m not a deep person. Existentialism is not my thing. The actual subtitle of the song “There There” (The Boney King of Nowhere) seemed a little bit too intense. As it seems like I’m going to be in New York City for a while, the boney king of NYC sticks until I can come up with something better.

3) The title of the post. It’s a song by this rapper Busdriver. Weirdly, a friend of mine allegedly hooked up with Busdriver, but that’s another story altogether. Anyway, here are the lyrics, cause I found them kind of applicable:

“Do you have a fear of a black tangent? Were you born in the year of the rat? Do you cheer and clap when weird rap bands commence?

I can tell by your answer you’ll frolic with me in the foothills, and that you want your tofu patties cooked, not grilled. But it doesn’t matter, you’ve been enticed and drawn in with my hook and reel.”

So, Busdriver likes to ramble. And so do I. And even though I hate tofu, I guess that’s what I’ll be doing here.

Hope you enjoy it. Be ready for another real post in like fifteen minutes.




June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930